Superhero Wall Art

Long time no see! I hope everyone has had a wonderful January thus far. I have a great recipe to share with you tomorrow that I know you will LOVE but for today we’re getting a little crafty.

I happen to have a superhero fan, and I’ve been trying to figure out a way to transform the nursery style of decor to something a toddler would love without spending much money, if any.

I made these a little over two years ago to hang on the wall, they were incredibly easy to make and looked really cute. I took canvases, cut some batting into the same square shape of the canvas and then cut the fabric in a larger square than the canvas. I placed the batting on top of the canvas and held it in place with a little hot glue. I then laid the fabric over the top and bunched/folded it in the back and used the hot glue gun to glue it in place. They were incredibly easy and inexpensive to make.

Fabric Canvas art

Since I like to re-use products, I took the fabric and batting off and peeled the little bits of hot glue off. Voila! A clean canvas ready to paint! I had a small stash of acrylic paints in the cupboard and I didn’t want to buy more, so some brainstorming took place.

Canvas painting

Any guesses of what this is going to turn in to?

Canvas painted yellow

I had one of those foam paint brushes that cost less than a dollar and a paintbrush that I used out of a children’s watercolor set. I also used a black and green marker to draw out the designs. For this first canvas, I used to foam brush to paint the canvas an all over yellow. While that was drying, I painted my second canvas white in the center, and once that dried I cut out a paper circle, stuck it in the middle (or at least I tried to center it) and then painted the green color on top. Once the base layers were completely dry on both canvases, I took my markers and drew the designs. I then took the paint brush and painted the inside of my outlines…oh and I obviously removed the paint from the brushes before using a new color.

Superhero Wall Art

P.S. I never said I was good at free-hand drawing, but I think they turned out pretty awesome and they didn’t cost anything to make!

I encourage you to look around your house and find something that you can re-purpose. And of course have fun doing it!

Happy Crafting πŸ™‚

One thought on “Superhero Wall Art

Leave a Reply

