Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Shortbread Cookies

Christmas is in the air! This was my first holiday recipe and it turned out so good! I can’t wait to share the other goodies with you that I have up my sleeves.

My mom always makes cookies, breads and candies for Christmas and my two favorite things are her thumbprint cookies and the Russian tea cakes. These shortbread cookies are my take on her thumbprint cookies 🙂

The recipe is incredibly simple. I melted chocolate to drizzle on the top and I burnt it twice so, the moral of this story is watch your chocolate! I tried over the stove and in the microwave, you could use a double broiler as well.

 

Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Shortbread Cookies

 

Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Shortbread Cookies

Yields approx. 40 cookies

1 1/2 cups of dairy-free butter, I use Earth Balance

1/4 cup vegetable oil

4 cups flour

1 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Jar of raspberry jam

2 bags of dairy-free chocolate chips, I use Enjoy Life

Pre-heat the oven to 350. Cream together the butter, oil and vanilla. Add in the sugar and flour and mix together. The dough will have the consistency of play-dough.

Roll the dough into balls, mine were similar in size to a ping-pong ball. Press your thumb in the middle of the dough ball to create a little bowl to hold the jelly. Add a tsp or so of raspberry jelly in the middle of the cookie. Bake for 12-15 mins.

While the cookies are baking  melt your chocolate. I made my cookies in separate batches, which by the way this dough does great in the freezer, so I guesstimated how much chocolate to melt for each batch. Put the melted chocolate in a baggy with a small opening at the tip and drizzle the chocolate on top of the cookies after they have finished baking.

These cookies are so good and taste just like the kind filled with butter and eggs! They are a perfect combination of soft and crunchy, and are definitely a must for the holiday!

Happy Baking 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Shortbread Cookies

  1. Pingback: LAUGH: Shortbread Cookies | dare

  2. Pingback: Dairy-Free: No-Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies | Adventures of a Dairy-Free Mom

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Chocolate and Maraschino Cherry Shortbread Cookie | Homemade Laughs

Leave a Reply

