Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free: Toddler Breakfast

I hope you all are embracing the holiday season and enjoying your friends and family! As you may have noticed, I haven’t posted a blog in a while. I don’t want you all to think I’ve forgotten you…because I haven’t, so wipe away those tears. I have just become busier than I have been in quite some time, but I won’t bore you with all the details.

I have a couple things that I would like to share in the upcoming days and weeks, and there may or may not be some recipes for all those sweet treats that we must devour during the holidays. So many of the recipes call for dairy in some form or another, but I am thinking that we can treat ourselves to something just as good, if not better, than the original versions.

Over Thanksgiving I made an Apple Crisp, it was actually called something else but my brain is not working on all its cylinders right now, and we served it up with ice cream. So the obvious question was (to those who can eat dairy), “do you want coconut milk ice cream or cow milk ice cream?” This received a little chuckle, and then the adage that when its put that way the coconut milk ice cream sounds much more desirable. So that brings me to wonder, how do you classify your “milk” products? I can’t be the only one that refers to dairy as cow milk! Here is where my mom would mention that I used to call milk, foot milk…maybe I should go back to calling it that instead, hehe. Okay, I have gotten side tracked.

Dairy Free Gluten Free Toddler Dino Breakfast

Let’s talk breakfast! You may notice a trend here, eggs and toast! This breakfast was incredibly simple, I scrambled some eggs and tossed in some fresh chopped baby spinach, just a handful or so. Peeled a little cutie and made a cool design! And popped a piece of gluten and dairy free bread in the toaster, cut it into an awesome dinosaur shape with my amazing skills and spread a little peanut butter on top. Simple and nourishing! As a side note, after the toddler dug into breakfast, I realized I could of turned this into a little scene and put the eggs at the bottom of the plate and had the dinosaur walking on them, and then have the little cutie sun shining down from above. Next time around!Β I basically ate the same thing, but I had a plain ‘ole boring square piece of toast. Oh, and I put Earth’s Balance on it instead of peanut butter.

Happy Eating πŸ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

