Dairy-Free: Green Chicken Enchiladas

My mother makes these green chicken enchiladas that in my opinion will make you not want enchiladas any other way…they are that good! My recipe differs from hers just a smidge, the biggest differences being that my recipe has added beans and is sans cheese.

If you feel like you can’t live without cheese, you can always use a dairy-free alternative like Daiya. This is another meal that I double, so that it can be eaten for multiple meals or you could freeze half of it…unless you are cooking for a larger group of people.

Dairy Free Green Chicken Enchiladas

Green Chicken Enchiladas

One pound chicken breasts, seasoning optional: oil, garlic, salt, pepper

3 ½ cups green chile enchilada sauce

10 ct medium/soft taco size flour tortillas

¼ bunch of fresh cilantro

1 cup diced green chiles

2 cups of refried beans

Optional:

Salsa

Avocado

Fresh chopped cilantro

The first step is to cook the chicken breast, seasoning is optional, and when the chicken is fully cooked shred it. I typically shred the chicken with a fork, and just scrape it along the breast until it is completely shredded. You could always cheat and get a roasted chicken from the grocery store and just shred it up 😉

Set aside one and a half cups of green enchilada sauce. Finely chop the cilantro, and mix it with the green chiles and the remaining green enchilada sauce. Spread some of the sauce (without cilantro) over the bottom of the baking dishes. I use two glass baking dishes so the recipe is easily split, the size I use is a 2qt, and the dimensions are 21x21x5.

To assemble the enchilada, I lay the tortilla flat, and take a large spoonful of beans and spread in the center, and then I place about 1.5 ounces of chicken on top of the beans, and then pour a couple large spoonfuls of sauce (with cilantro) on top. Then you can fold it like a burrito, to do this you fold two opposite sides towards the middle and then starting at the bottom of the tortilla roll it up.

I repeat these steps with the additional tortillas. Once I am finished, I use the remaining sauce (without cilantro) to pour over the tops so they are nice and coated, however if you have extra of the cilantro sauce you could pour that over the top as well. Bake the enchiladas at 350 for 20-30 minutes. I find that the time varies a little due to the type of bake ware you use.

These enchiladas are great on their own, but I like to garnish it with a little salsa, avocado and a sprinkle of fresh chopped cilantro. I hope that you enjoy these dairy-free green chicken enchiladas as much as I do!

Happy Cooking 🙂

 

One thought on “Dairy-Free: Green Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Egg Enchiladas «

Leave a Reply

