What’s for Dinner? Stir-Fry

I make a basic stir-fry almost every other week, because it is inexpensive, easy and I make enough to last for several meals…not having to cook dinner is always a big bonus in my book. Besides all that, I just don’t seem to tire of stir-fry; plus this is the ONLY way my toddler will eat broccoli.

Every once in a while I will make a more elaborate stir-fry with extra veggies and eggs, but lately I have just been keeping it simple with just five ingredients that I almost always have on hand. I have this great stove top wok that my dad bought me for Christmas one year that I use to cook all this yummy-ness in.

I start off by heating up my wok and adding a little oil, I typically use olive oil, once the wok has heated I add approximately a pound of diced chicken and cook thoroughly. While the chicken is cooking I will steam my rice, I don’t have a fancy rice cooker and I don’t measure, but I dump almost half of a one pound bag of rice into the pot. Once the chicken is cooked I add a pound of broccoli to the wok, you can use fresh or frozen. Once the broccoli starts getting tender I will add in teriyaki sauce, and again, I don’t measure, I just add enough to coat the chicken and the broccoli.

Almost all of the teriyaki sauce at the market contained gluten, but I got lucky and found this gluten-free version made by Annie Chun’s, it has a much subtler flavor than your typical teriyaki sauce, but is worked perfectly in this dish. Once the rice is done cooking I add it into the wok and mix it with the other ingredients; at this point I do a little taste test to see if it needs additional teriyaki sauce or even soy sauce. I haven’t come across any soy sauce that contains dairy or gluten, but like always, be label conscious.

DairyFree GlutenFree StirFry

Stir-Fry

One pound of chicken breasts

One pound of broccoli

Half a pound of rice (approx)

Dairy/Gluten-Free Teriyaki Sauce

Oil, such as olive

Optional:

Dairy/Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Happy Wok’ing πŸ˜‰

One thought on “What’s for Dinner? Stir-Fry

  1. Pingback: Raku Stir Fry | D.C. Eats

Leave a Reply

