Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free: Spicy Buffalo [Cauliflower] Wings

Buffalo wings are an American staple, especially when it comes to the weekend and sitting in front of the boob-tube watching sports. These aren’t your typical buffalo wing though, thanks to Peta, these are made with cauliflower.

Cauliflower isn’t actually something I buy that frequently, despite the cauliflower fad that seems to be taking place. It’s not that I don’t like it, but I can’t ever seem to think of a good way to prepare it- until now; when I was young my mom used to make a recipe that she called, frosted cauliflower , and it was so yummy and cheesy but I haven’t had that in years.

Dairy Free and Gluten Free Spicy Buffalo Cauliflower Wings

Spicy Buffalo [Cauliflower] Wings

One head of cauliflower

One cup of water or dairy-free milk

One cup of flour of choice

Two tsp garlic powder

Sauce:

One cup buffalo wing sauce

One tablespoon dairy-free butter or olive oil

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. For these “wings” you need to chop up a head of cauliflower, when chopped coat in the flower mixture; I used water and all-purpose gluten free flour (my awesome grandma gave me a 5lb bag of the Namaste brand). Place in a baking dish and stick in the oven for 18 minutes. While the cauliflower is cooking, make the sauce; I used Frank’s Red Hot and Earth’s Balance Organic Whipped. After the time has elapsed, pour the sauce over the cauliflower and mix it all up. Peta’s recipe said to cook for an additional 5 to 8 minutes, but I cooked them for 10.

These turned out pretty darn well, if I do say-so myself. They don’t have a strong cauliflower flavor, but they are nice and spicy (I got an extra hot buffalo sauce), and have a nice soft crunch. Yummy!

P.S. Frank’s Red Hot states that it has a “natural butter type flavor”, I am not sure what it is, but I have been assured that it is in fact vegan.

Happy Baking πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

