Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free: Rice Krispy Treats

I hope everyone had a safe and happy Halloween! Ours was pretty great, and I am happy to report that not one single piece of chocolate (or other milk filled) candy has been ingested…woohooo!

We had some Halloween colored sprinkles that needed to be used, so why not make some rice krispy treats with some flair? Rice kripsy treats bring up childhood nostalgia and even though I am not a child anymore, they are still pretty darn tasty.

Dairy Free and Gluten Free Rice Krispy Treat Ingredients

There is just three basic ingredients to make a good rice krispy treat:

  1. Rice Krispies. Kellogg’s has gluten-free Rice Krispies that are made with brown rice and they don’t have dairy, double score!
  2. Butter. But since we can’t have butter I opted for Earth Balance Organic Whipped
  3. Marshmallows. I used Kraft Jet Puffed, they don’t have gluten or dairy, but they aren’t vegetarian. If you don’t know why, then I’ll tell you in a minute.

Dairy Free and Gluten Free Rice Krispies

Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free Rice Krispy Treats

3 TBSP Earth Balance

10 oz Marshmallows

6 cups Rice Krispies

Optional: Awesome sprinkles

Making rice krispy treats is incredibly easy. Put a big pot on the stove, I set the stove to medium, and add in the butter. Once the butter is melted add in the marshmallows, stir them to make sure they don’t burn, once they are melted add the rice krispies and lightly mix until it is uniformly combined. I used an 8×8 glass dish that I greased with some Earth Balance to prevent sticking. I added the rice krispy ย mixture to the dish and pressed it down evenly (I used clean hands on this step). Then I had some little helpers dump on the sprinkles.

You could let the treats sit until they cool and then cut them into squares, but I didn’t wait ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dairy Free and Gluten Free Rice Krispy Treats

Okay, so now about marshmallows not being vegetarian. They are not vegetarian because of one seemingly innocent ingredient, gelatin. If you don’t know how gelatin is made, I am about to inform you…gelatin is made up of animal parts, like skin and cartilage, and it is boiled for an extensive amount of time to create, well, gelatin. Kind of gross, huh? So it may come to a surprise, but that means vegetarians cannot eat gummy bears or Jell-O either! However, there is a vegan gelatin that is used in some products called agar agar, so be label conscious. If you are vegetarian and want to make rice kripsy treats there are a couple of brands of marshmallows you can use, such as: Sweet & Sara and Dandies or if you are adventurous enough you could make your own!

Snap, Crackle, Pop ;P

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s