What’s for Dinner? Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free Spaghetti

Dairy Free and Gluten Free Spaghetti

Spaghetti is on my easy and inexpensive dinner list. I used ground beef in this particular spaghetti dish, but I also like to use ground turkey and spicy sausage as well (I have found some dairy-free sausage but I have not checked to see if it is gluten-free). It is easy to find dairy-free noodles at the store, but for this dish I used gluten-free noodles, Glutino elbow noodles, and I cooked them according to the directions on the package.

I don’t ever measure anything when I’m making spaghetti, I just add things to my big pot until it looks and tastes good. I drained the water from my noodles (the gluten-free noodles make the water opaque and a little thick), then added in the ground beef, diced tomatoes and spaghetti sauce. If you are buying spaghetti sauce from the jar it is important to read the label, a lot of sauces contain dairy. I always add in extra seasonings until I get the perfect taste; I know I have mentioned this in a previous post, but cinnamon is one of my secret spices that I add to tomato based dishes, you add enough to add a new dimension to the flavor profile, but not enough that it tastes like a cinnamon roll.

Now on to my toddlers dinner…

 

Dairy Free and Gluten Free Toddler Dinner

To go along with his dairy-free and gluten-free spaghetti, I added a little salad on the side with chopped spinach, tomatoes and avocado. A really great salad dressing that I have been using lately is Annie’s Light Natural Raspberry Vinaigrette. You can’t have spaghetti without garlic bread, am I right? I took some Organic whipped Earth Balance and mixed in some garlic and Italian seasonings and spread it on top of Franz Gluten-Free 7 Grains bread and stuck it under the broiler until it was golden brown.

A nice Italian-style dinner without dairy or gluten, can it get any better than that? I didn’t think so either.

Happy Cooking πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

