Chicken Noodle Soup

I was a little nervous making this soup, because it was my first time ever making it from scratch…can you believe it? Me neither. It was so simple and turned out so good!

I kept it simple with chicken breast, frozen peas and carrots, chicken stock, bay leaves and a little seasoning. You can easily cook this on the stove but I used my crock pot (5 Qt). If you are really handy in the kitchen you can make your own stock, but I bought mine from the store. I like to make sure my stock is low sodium and I also make sure there aren’t any funky ingredients in it as well. I prefer stock over bouillon cubes because the cubes often contain some form of dairy and/or MSG.

I added my chicken stock, bay leaves, seasoning and my chopped chicken breast into the crock pot and cooked it on low for approx. 3 hours to let the flavors meld together. I fished out the bay leaves and then added the noodles and the frozen veggies to the crock pot, they don’t need to be in there long (approx. 15 minutes) until it is all ready.

Dairy Free Chicken Noodle Soup

Chicken Noodle Soup

64 oz chicken stock

1 lb cooked chicken breast, chopped

6-8 oz noodles, I used egg noodles

10 oz package of frozen carrots and peas

1-2 tsp Italian seasoning

1/2 tsp salt

1/2-1 tsp pepper

2 bay leaves

3 cloves of garlic, minced

Oh, and if you are like me, you can’t just have a bowl of soup, I enjoyed mine with some Ritz crackers. Always make sure to check the ingredient list of what you are purchasing but I have found that the original Ritz and Saltine crackers don’t contain any dairy. You could also make yourself a grilled cheese sandwich with dairy-free cheese. Yum!

Happy Cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

