Corn Dog Muffins

I’ll admit it, I like hot dogs. I am a hot dog snob though, I don’t like things that taste fake, I like my hot dogs to taste like real meat and to be without nitrates, nitrites and artificial preservatives. I also enjoy one of our American food-on-a-stick staples…corn dogs.

I don’t know about you, but I have never come across a toddler who doesn’t like hot dogs or muffins, and since your typical corn dog isn’t that healthy, I decided to combine the two.

I found this Vegan Cornbread recipe through Pinterest, it wasn’t sweet enough for me so I suggest upping the maple syrup to 1/4-1/2 cup depending on your taste, you could also add in additional seasonings if you’d like. Important Note: I cut this recipe in half and it was the perfect amount for 24 mini muffins.

Vegan Cornbread

2 cups cornmeal
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup canola oil
2 tablespoons maple syrup–I suggest 1/4-1/2 cup
2 cups soymilk–I used rice milk
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt

Grease your tin and spoon in a small amount of the cornbread mix. Take your hot dog of choice, I used turkey dogs with no nitrates, nitrites or artificial preservatives, and cut them into small slices, (approx. 1/2-1 inch). Put a slice of hot dog on top of the cornbread mixture in your muffin tin, then cover the hot dogs with the additional mixture.  Bake at 425 for 12-15 minutes.

I hope you and your toddler enjoy these healthier version of a corn dog. They are yummy and a great size for your little ones.

Dairy Free Corn Dogs

Happy Baking 🙂

P.S. Make sure you check in tomorrow…there is a surprise coming!

3 thoughts on “Corn Dog Muffins

Leave a Reply

