Pumpkin Muffins

When Fall rolls around all of the Pumpkin recipes come out of hiding. A couple of months ago, I was browsing a farmer’s market with my mom and toddler in-tow and I came across some pumpkin seed protein powder, and other pumpkin seed products and I couldn’t wait to try them. I finally got some pumpkin seed protein powder this past weekend and I used it in my muffins.

Protein powder seems to have become very popular again, and I think that a lot of those powders have ingredients in them that aren’t so great for your body. The powder that I purchased was cold pressed, so that all of the nutrients weren’t stripped away while they removed the oil from the seeds . The particular powder that I bought offers a great host of nutrition, as well as 10.6 grams of protein per 2 TBSP.

I made two batches of these muffins and both had slight variations. I liked them both and couldn’t decide what recipe to share so we went to my toddler’s best friends house to get her opinions, and her mothers ๐Ÿ˜‰ The votes were split, so I’m sharing them both with you!

Pumpkin Muffin
(With Banana and Olive Oil)

1/4 cup Olive Oil
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup flour
1/2 cup oat bran
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup 100% pure pumpkin
1 mashed banana
1 shredded zucchini
2 tbsp (+) pumpkin seed protein powder

Note:ย My mommy friend said that these muffins reminded her of pumpkin pie and had a firmer texture.

Pumpkin Muffins
(With Applesauce and Coconut oil)

1/4 cup Coconut Oil
1/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup oat bran
2 tbsp (+) pumpkin protein powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup 100% pure pumpkin
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 shredded zucchini

Note: My mommy friend said these muffins were a little sweeter and had a softer texture.

I used a mini muffin pan to cook these in. I baked them at 350 for 12-15 mins.

Dairy Free Pumpkin Muffins

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

