Oat Bran Peanut Butter Cookies for Kids (and adults).

Ahhh! I’m so sorry that it has been a week since I have posted a new recipe…please forgive me! I feel like I have been extra busy lately, I’m sure you all know the feeling. Today I whipped up a batch of peanut butter cookies, is it me or does it seem like I am always talking about peanut butter and nut butter? Oh, and these cookies just happen to be vegan as well.

These aren’t your typical peanut butter cookies since they are very oat-y, with that said, I think these are great to throw in your child’s lunch box or for a treat; they will be happy to be eating cookies and you’ll be happy to know they are eating something healthy. I used oat bran in place of flour because it offers a good amount of fiber and protein. I also used agave in place of sugar, I personally think that all sweeteners are fairly similar, but the nice thing about agave is that it is lower on the glycemic index so it doesn’t cause as sharp of a spike in blood sugar.

 

Oat Bran Peanut Butter Cookies

Oat Bran Peanut Butter Cookies

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 cup oat bran

1/3 cup agave

(if you would prefer to use brown sugar, then you may want to use 1/2 cup).

1/2 mashed banana

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

Mix all of the ingredients together and roll into balls, and press them down with a fork. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. My batch made about 15 small cookies.

Oat Bran Peanut Butter Cookies1

Happy Baking!

P.S. Stay tuned! In the next couple of weeks I will be holding a contest and the winner will receive some dairy free goodies πŸ˜›

 

Leave a Reply

