Vegan Fruit and Veggie Toddler (and parents) Pancakes

These pancakes are great because you can add any fruit and veggie combination you like! I actually use purees in this recipe, and then add fresh fruit and/or veggies. You could make your own purees by steaming or baking your fruit and/or veggies and then blending/mashing it; or, you can buy it. When I buy pureed baby food, I like to buy the Ellas Kitchen pouches. Here are my favorites to use in the pancakes:
US_Ellas1_spinach_apples_rutabagas_2_smaller1

V2_EKUS_EK1_sweetpotatoes_pumpkin_apples_blueberries_845901000045-522x1024

I’ve tried several combinations, with the above pouches and even applesauce, then I’ve added in fresh blueberries or chopped banana, or I’ve even shredded in some zucchini or carrots. These are very versatile! However, I personally would not suggest avocado; I used it once, and even though I love avocados, it was AWFUL!

Vegan Fruit and Veggie Toddler Pancakes:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar, honey or agave
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • a pinch of salt (this is optional)
  • 2 tbsp oil: warmed coconut, olive, vegetable- whatever you like to use while baking
  • 1/2 dairy-free milk or water (depending on the amount of fruits/veggies you add, you may want to add more liquid)
  • 1/2 cup pureed fruit and/or veggie
  • 1/2-1 cup blueberries, chopped bananas, shredded zucchini or carrots, etc.

Mix all the ingredients together, and cook on a heated skillet. I usually use some coconut oil to cook them in so they don’t stick. I serve them plain, or with a smear of nut butter or mashed banana on top. You could always do syrup too.

Here is one of my versions with the spinach, apples and rutabaga pouch and chopped bananas. I even topped it with more bananas that I mashed.

fruitandveggiepancake

 

Happy Cooking!

 

One thought on “Vegan Fruit and Veggie Toddler (and parents) Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Dairy-Free Breakfast Ideas: Toddler Edition | Adventures of a Dairy Free Mom

Leave a Reply

