What’s for Lunch? Turkey and Hummus Sandwich with Sweet Potato Fries

Over the weekend, my cousin made a dish of sweet potato fries that were so good! I had to ask her for the recipe so I could make them at home, and of course to share with all of you πŸ™‚ We made them with our lunch today, here is the recipe:

My Sweet Cousin’s Sweet Potato Fries:

  • Sweet Potatoes, we just used one for lunch.
  • Coconut Oil
  • Sea Salt

Slice the sweet potato(es) into uniform strips, toss them in melted coconut oil and sea salt. Bake at 400 degrees for 40 minutes (more if the fries are larger). Flip the potatoes half-way through.

She also made this dipping sauce that was amazing too. It was just ketchup and spicy buffalo wing sauce mixed together. Since I love all things spicy, I can’t believe I’ve never thought of spicy ketchup! This dish was sweet, salty and spicy…perfect!

sweetpotatofry

Today has been a little drab and dreary, so it felt like a grilled sandwich kind of day. I got out some slices of Dave’s Killer Bread and coated one side of each slice with coconut oil (I used CO because I had it out for the fries, but you could use a dairy-free butter substitute, olive oil, or whatever you have on hand). On the opposites sides of the bread, I spread a layer of hummus, my personal favorite is roasted red pepper, I stuck a couple of slices of turkey on the hummus and made myself a sandwich, I tossed it on the warm skillet and cooked it up like a grilled cheese sandwich. It was warm, creamy, and delicious.

A little side note about turkey, if you are using lunch meat style turkey, try and look for a brand that DOES NOT have artificial preservatives, nitrites or nitrates. Applegate Farms makes a lunch meat style turkey, but it is more expensive, I’ve seen it cost anywhere from $5.99-$8.99 for 8-ounces, Trader Joe’s has a turkey that doesn’t have nitrites or nitrates and it runs about $2.99 for a 7-ounce package. A majority of my local grocery stores have deli sliced turkey that they cut for you but I have not found, or asked what their turkey contains besides turkey. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Boar’s Head, but alas, we don’t have that around here. I’m sure other parts of the world have more brand options. Just keep a watchful eye on your foods ingredient list πŸ™‚ Okay, I will now step off of my pedestal now.

hummusturkey

2 thoughts on “What’s for Lunch? Turkey and Hummus Sandwich with Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Your fries look so good. Makes me want some. πŸ˜‰

    Have you heard of ghee? It is clarified butter, meaning it’s had the milk solids removed. Often people who have milk sensitivities use ghee in their cooking instead of butter and love it.

    • I’m glad you like them!

      I have heard of ghee, but I don’t know much about it. Thanks for the tip, I’ll have to look into it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

