Vegan Chocolate Cake

I promised you a vegan chocolate cake, and that is what you’re gonna get! If you read my pasta salad post, then you know today was the first time I had cooked dairy free for other people, luckily it was just my close family…because it was a DISASTER!

I came across this site called Not Quite Nigella and saw this beautiful vegan chocolate cake. I just had to make this for all the chocolate lovers in my family. Did you know that I don’t like chocolate that much? Crazy huh! I’m a vanilla girl. Anyways, here is her vegan chocolate cake:

a-vegan-chocolate-cake-2-1-460x690

Gorgeous right?

I threw my back out on Friday, and I am still pretty sore, so I was going to make my life easier and just take this recipe and make cupcakes rather than cake. When I started cooking though, I was determined to make a cake that was as stunning as the one on Not Quite Nigella’s site. Well something happened and my cake was too soft, I followed the recipe so I am not sure where I went wrong. The cake just collapsed. Also, the icing that I made never hardened, it stayed liquidy (is that a word?). I brought it to the party anyways, and you know what? Everyone ate it, and LIKED it! It was really rich, moist, and ultra chocolaty and if I hadn’t told everyone it was vegan, they would have never known… I will be trying this recipe again! Are you ready to see MY cake?……..

veganchoccake

By the end of the party, there was only a little left!

veganchoccake1

Here is some happy customers.

veganchoccake2

veganchoccake4

An Original Recipe by Not Quite Nigella

  • 1.5 cups plain or all purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups brown sugar
  • 6 tablespoons cocoa, sifted
  • 1.5 teaspoons bi carbonate of soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1/2 cup mild flavoured vegetable oil (eg. canola oil)
  • 3 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 75g/2.5oz dark chocolate (dairy free) finely chopped

Chocolate syrup or icing

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup icing or confectioners sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa
  • 100g/3.5ozs dark chocolate, roughly chopped

1. Line a 20cm round baking tin with parchment and preheat the oven to 180C/350F. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix together. In a jug mix the water, oil, vinegar and vanilla and then add to dry ingredients. Stir in chocolate and and then pour into the prepared tin. Bake for 25-30 minutes until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

2. While it is baking, prepare the syrup. Heat the water, icing or confectioners sugar and cocoa until boiling and syrup – this may take a few minutes but you do want this syrupy. When thick add the chocolate and then whisk to remove any lumps and melt the chocolate.

3. When the cake is ready, take out of the oven and leaving it in the tin, poke tiny holes with a skewer. While it is still warm, gently pour the syrup over the cake and allow to cool completely before taking it out of the tin. Alternatively, if you allow this to cool and partially set, it takes on the consistency of icing and you can spread it out over the top which is what I did (who knew that inattentiveness would pay off? ;) ).

Visit her site at:
http://www.notquitenigella.com/2012/03/13/vegan-chocolate-cake-egg-dairy-free/

Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

