What’s for Dinner? Spaghetti with Garbanzo and Avocado Sauce.

Who doesn’t love a bowl of pasta? I know I sure do! Growing up, I think I might have been a carb addict; who can blame me though, right? I LOVED eating Fettuccine Alfredo or Macaroni and Cheese with peas, GASP! I have yet to make a dairy-free version of these foods…but I will soon.

Tonight’s dinner was a bit of an experiment. There’s nothing more exhilarating than throwing together a healthy meal, well maybe winning the lottery is…but that’s besides the point πŸ˜‰ I heated up a can of garbanzo beans until they were tender, I then drained the liquid and put the beans in my blender (I had to add water, so you could save the liquid from the beans for this purpose). Then I started boiling 3 servings of whole wheat spaghetti noodles (the type of noodle used is neither here nor there).

I put the rest of the ingredients into the blender and pulsed the mixture until it was a creamy consistency. When it was done I tossed the sauce with the noodles and gave my toddler a taste. He gobbled it up and said, “Mommy, more please!” The sauce doesn’t have an overly defined flavor, so I encourage you to experiment! I played around with my portion of sauce and added extra garlic and some Tapatio for a kick.

photo 1

Spaghetti with Garbanzo and Avocado Sauce:

  • Noodle of your choice
  • One can of Garbanzo beans
  • One Avocado
  • Half of a Lime (Squeezed)
  • Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 Tbsp garlic (cloves, minced, powdered- whatever you have on hand)
  • 1/4 cup of water or liquid from beans

Ideas for Extras:

  • More GARLIC!
  • Hot Sauce
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Cilantro

 

Don’t Forget Desert! I whipped up one of our go-to smoothies that satisfies our after dinner craving for sweets.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie:

  • Two frozen bananas
  • Tbsp of Natural PB
  • 1/2 cup of Almond Milk (I would start out with 1/4 cup and add more in until you get your desired consistency)

Blend together and enjoy your sweet treat πŸ™‚

photo 2

 

2 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner? Spaghetti with Garbanzo and Avocado Sauce.

  1. I’m having fun reading all your posts! You are such a creative writer as you describe your cooking experiments and craft projects. You are an amazing Mommy! I love youJ

Leave a Reply

